Help Please!

KirstyP

Hi Guys! I posted this on the Brisbane community board and received no replies. Please help if you can.

We are due to arrive in Brisbane early October.... I feel like there is so much to do between now and then

I am a secondary school English teacher, my application to the Queensland Teaching College is going in Monday 1 September - thats if i can get my police clearance by then It will take 3 months for them to process the apllication

I am hoping to get a post from one Jan 2009. The problem is I have a 15 month old son.... any suggestions regarding nursery school? Which ones are good? In which areas? We have been following the high school post re COCC and are thinking Carindale and Mansfield might be the areas for us? My husband will be working in the CBD. How long is the commute for these areas? Traffic?

Am also wondering if you guys have a moms group that meets in the mornings or afternoons for a chat?

Lastly, GYM!!!! is there one in these areas? with a kiddies supervised play area? I am desperate to get back into gym!

PS any recommendations on a good evangelical/charismatic/non-denomonational church in these areas?

Thanks Guys!

Hi Kirsty,

Carindale is about 10km's from the CBD it can take up to 45 mins to get into the city depending on traffic. There are some lovely kindy's in that area or any surrounding suburbs like Tingalpa,Wynnum,Manly etc.The best idea is to get here then look for a kindy as you might look for certain requirements specific to your needs.

There is a lovely Westfield which has all the big stores which also has a medicare office etc.

There are are gyms en route to the CBD, so you would best having a look when you get here.

Not sure about churches.

Good luck

:censored: Hallo Kristy!!