Moving to NSW - so many questions!

marikdp

Hi everyone,

My husband and I received state-sponsored PR from NSW and plan to make our big move in November. I have a PhD in the Life Sciences, and am currently doing my PGCE (teachers certificate).

We would really love to speak to someone who is familiar with NSW - we have no idea which areas to look at (and don't really have specific preferences in terms of Sydney vs rural).

We are basically looking to move somewhere were we could live off a teacher's salary alone, as we are afraid that my husband may have trouble finding work, and we have heard horror stories regarding cost of living in Sydney!

As you can tell we really need help - we were so surprised when the visa came through that we only realised then that we know nothing about the state we need to move to!

Any help much appreciated!

Wagga Wagga is quite nice. Small city in the sticks. Pronounced Wogga Wogga - shortened to Wogga by those in the know.

I've only been through it a few times, but it seems to have everything - probably not many cardiac surgeons and so on, but you get what I mean.

Newcastle also seems a big enough city that procides everythig you need, but not big enough to be a rat race. It was traditionally a bit of an industrial town but it has grown up a lot and has become a lot more arty and tourist friendly.

The advantage of being a teacher is that your work options are not limited to big cities, and you have the luxury of being able to to choose from a range of regional centres.

First and foremost though, go where you find work, I reckon.

Edited by HansaPlease

Hi!

My wife and I am Australians, but I've been on this website, helping South Africans settle in Australia since it all began back in 2004.